What are Protected Characteristics?

Under the Equality Act 2010 (EqA 2010), and related legislation, all employers/firms and other bodies are under a statutory duty not to directly or indirectly discriminate against anyone who possess a protected characteristic. Claims for harassment may also arise from some of these characteristics

The legislation sets out nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Marriage or civil partnership
  5. Pregnancy or maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion or belief
  8. Sex
  9. Sexual Orientation


Farore Law is a leading boutique law firm that has a wealth of experience in advising senior executives on employment matters. We are well placed to provide appropriate advice regarding the enforceability of contractual terms, seeking a settlement agreement and commencing or defending litigation in the High Court or the Employment Tribunal.

Please contact us if you require legal advice.